Bok Writing Fellows

An initiative of the Harvard Writing Project, the Writing Center, and the Bok Center for Learning and Teaching, the Bok Writing Fellows (BWF) Program appoints advanced graduate students to serve as in-house writing tutors for concentrators in departments. Responding to a perceived gap in the College’s support for undergraduate student writers, the BWF program aims to provide discipline-specific writing tutorial services to concentrators, services not currently available through the Writing Center or the house tutor program.

The primary responsibility of the BWF is to hold weekly office hours and appointments to consult with students on the articulation, organization, and presentation of writing assignments for courses offered in the department. Typically the services of the BWF are especially valuable for students in sophomore and junior tutorials who are working to master unfamiliar disciplinary writing conventions. Aside from holding individualized consultations with students, the specific duties of the BWF are meant to be flexible and responsive to departmental needs.

For the 2016-17 academic year, the following departments have Writing Fellows: History, Psychology, Government, Philosophy, Sociology, Anthropology, and English.  

DEPARTMENT BWF OFFICE CONTACT WEBSITE
Government Colin Brown

CGIS S316

brown4@fas.harvard.edu

 
Government Shanna Weitz

CGIS K414

sweitz@fas.harvard.edu
English Stephen Tardif

 Barker 030

tardif@fas.harvard.edu

link
History Michael Thornton 

 Robinson L-22

michaelthornton@fas.harvard.edu

link
Philosophy Richard Sanchez

Emerson Hall 003

rsanchez@fas.harvard.edu

link
Psychology Narges Afshordi

William James Hall 1110

narges.afshordi@gmail.com

 
Sociology Jonathan Mijs

William James Hall 564

mijs@fas.harvard.edu

link
Anthropology Zoe Eddy

Tozzer 404

zoeaeddy@gmail.com

 
Anthropology Jared McCormick 

jaredmccormick@gmail.com

link